Map of the UKs 15 National Parks

One big family

There are 15 members of the national parks family in the United Kingdom and each one is looked after by its own authority. We all work together as National Parks UK.

See the Learning About section to find out:
What is a national park
Who looks after National Parks
The history of National Parks

The UK's 15 national parks are part of a global family of more than 113,000 protected areas, covering 149 million square kilometres or 6 percent of Earth's surface. We are linked to Europe through the EUROPARC Federation – a network of European protected areas with 360 member organisations in 37 countries.

There are 10 National Parks in England, 3 in Wales and 2 in Scotland, they are:

Not ours - but ours to look after

Each national park is administered by its own authority. They are independent bodies funded by central government to:

In carrying out these aims, national park authorities are also required to seek to foster the economic and social well-being of local communities within the national park.

In the case of the Broads there is a third purpose, namely protecting the interests of navigation, and all three purposes are given equal priority.

For the Scottish parks there are four aims for the area:

With the exception of Broads National Park, if there's a conflict between a park's purposes, greater weight has to be given to the first purpose.

See the looking after section to find out how we work to conserve and promote enjoyment in the national parks

Elected members and staff

Each national park authority has a number of unpaid appointed members, selected by the Secretary of State, local councils and parish councils. The role of members is to provide leadership, scrutiny and direction for the national park authority.

There are also a number of paid staff who carry out the work necessary to run the national park. Our working for us section shows the diverse types of jobs national park staff do, from rangers and ecologists to planners and education teams.

National Parks UK

National Parks UK brings together the 15 national park authorities in the UK to raise the profile of the national parks and to promote joint working. Country associations for the English and Welsh national parks represent the national park authorities to English and Welsh governments.

Find out about National Parks UK and the country associations

Our websites

The links below will take you to each National Park's website:

  1. Brecon Beacons
  2. Broads
  3. Cairngorms
  4. Dartmoor
  5. Exmoor
  6. Lake District
  7. Loch Lomond & the Trossachs
  8. New Forest
  9. Northumberland
  10. North York Moors
  11. Peak District
  12. Pembrokeshire Coast
  13. Snowdonia
  14. South Downs
  15. Yorkshire Dales

About us